1 – Hanging Rock
4552 E Hanging Rock Rd, Lagro
The Acres Land Trust property, located on the southern bank of the Wabash River, near the town of Lagro, contains an impressive natural exposure of fossilized coral reef dating from the Silurian Period some 400 million years ago. The limestone reef deposit rises 75 feet above the river and is being undercut by it, giving the site its “hanging” appearance.
2 – North Manchester Covered Bridge
S Mill St, North Manchester
The North Manchester Covered Bridge, constructed in 1872, is one of the two remaining covered bridges which span the Eel River in Wabash County, Indiana.
3 – Paradise Spring Historical Park
351 E Market St, Wabash, IN
Paved walkway through historic log cabins on the site where the Treaty at Paradise Spring was signed. Also was once a main hub for the Big Four Railroad.
4 – Roann Covered Bridge
SR 16 (North Side of Roann)
While there once were twenty-nine covered bridges in Wabash County, the Roann Covered bridge is now one of the only two remaining covered bridges in the county.
5 – St. Patrick’s Catholic Church
940 Main St, Lagro, IN
Built in 1870 by Irish immigrants, this breathtaking church speaks for itself. Victorian Gothic style, the original bell, and organ are still in use.
6 – Stockdale Mill
State Rd 16, Roann
The Stockdale Mill is a historic grist mill built between 1855 and 1857. The mill is powered by a 202 ft. long dam that spans the Eel River. During the season open on Saturdays for FREE tours from 12 PM to 4 PM, come explore 3 and 1/2 stories of history!
7 – The Honeywell House
720 N Wabash St, Wabash
The Honeywell House, home of the late Mrs. Mark C. Honeywell, is a nonprofit cultural center owned and operated by the Honeywell Foundation.
8 – Thomas Marshall House
409 N Market St, North Manchester
Thomas R. Marshall was our Nation’s 28th Vice President. Tour this historic home located in charming North Manchester, Indiana.
9 – Wabash-Erie Canal – Kerr Lock
Washington St, Lagro
There were four locks near Lagro. The Kerr Lock, the McDonald Lock, the Ditton Lock, and the Hayes Lock. They were named after their lock tenders. Locktenders were the people that took care of the locks.
10 – Wabash County Courthouse & Abraham Lincoln Monument
2 S Wabash St, Wabash
First Electrically Lighted city in the World: “From the towering dome of the Court House at 8 PM on March 31, 1880, burst a flood of lights that made world history.”
Want to hear more on the arc light that made Wabash the First Electrically Lighted City? Check out this podcast by Wabash’s very own podcaster – Shane Waters